Professeur Anouar Boukhars

Professeur de lutte contre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent

Anouar Boukhkars, Professor of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent ExtremismEn tant que professeur de lutte contre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent, le Dr. Anouar Boukhars collabore étroitement avec les dirigeants du secteur de la sécurité, qu’ils soient représentants de l’État ou d’organisations non-gouvernementales afin d’élaborer des activités et programmes relatifs à la lutte contre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent. Ses travaux de recherche sont axés sur les dynamiques de la radicalisation et de l’extrémisme violent en Afrique.

Avant de rejoindre le Centre d’études stratégiques de l’Afrique, il était chargé de recherche non titulaire dans au sein du programme sur le Moyen-Orient au Carnegie Endowment for International Peace et professeur associé de relations internationales au McDaniel College à Westminster dans le Maryland. Au cours des dix dernières années, le Dr. Boukhars a été membre de plusieurs comités consultatifs et de comités sur le Sahel et l’Afrique du Nord, dont l’African Peacebuilding Network du Social Science Research Council. D’août 2015 à juillet 2017, le Dr. Boukhars a siégé à l’Institute for Peace and Security Studies d’Addis-Abeba en Éthiopie en qualité d’animateur principal de son programme phare : la maîtrise de gestion de la paix et de la sécurité en Afrique.

Ses ouvrages ont été publiés dans des revues telles que : Journal of Conflict Studies, International Political Science Review, Middle Eastern Studies, the Africa Center for Strategic Studies’ Africa Security Brief, European Security, Journal of the Middle East and Africa, Counter Terrorism Center Sentinel, World Politics Review, Al Jazeera Center for Studies, Orient et Terrorism Monitor. Le Dr. Boukhars effectue souvent des travaux sur le terrain pour l’Union africaine, la Banque mondiale, les Nations Unies, le département d’État américain ainsi que pour des gouvernements européens.

Mr. Boukhars est titulaire d’un doctorat en études internationales de la Old Dominion University de Norfolk en Virginie, d’un master en sciences sociales appliquées de l’Université Al Akhaweyn d’Ifrane au Maroc et d’une licence en littérature anglaise de l’Université Ibn Tofail de Kenitra au Maroc.

 

Domaines de spécialisation

Lutte contre le terrorisme et l’extrémisme violent, radicalisation

Contacter

Envoyez un email au Dr. Boukhars

+1 202-685-7343

⇑ top of list ⇑

Dr. Anouar Boukhars

Professor of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism

Anouar Boukhkars, Professor of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent ExtremismAs a professor of counterterrorism and countering violent extremism, Dr. Anouar Boukhars leads and manages an executive-level portfolio focused on curriculum development, research, education, and program implementation. In this capacity, he works closely with African government and nongovernmental security sector leaders on activities and programs relating to counterterrorism and countering violent extremism. His research focuses on the dynamics of radicalization and violent extremism in Africa. 

Prior to joining the Africa Center, he was a nonresident fellow in the Middle East Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and an associate professor of international relations at McDaniel College in Westminster, Maryland. Over the past 10 years, Boukhars has served on several advisory boards and committees on the Sahel and North Africa, including at the African Peacebuilding Network at the Social Science Research Council. From August 2015 to July 2017, Boukhars served at the Institute for Peace and Security Studies in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, as lead facilitator of its flagship program, the Executive Masters in Managing Peace and Security in Africa.

His publications have appeared in the Journal of Conflict Studies, the International Political Science Review, Middle Eastern Studies, the Africa Center for Strategic Studies’ Africa Security Brief, European Security, Journal of the Middle East and Africa, Counter Terrorism Center Sentinel, World Politics Review, Al Jazeera Center for Studies, Orient, and Terrorism Monitor. He routinely conducts fieldwork in Africa and consults frequently for the African Union, World Bank, United Nations, U.S. State Department, and European governments. 

Dr. Boukhars holds a Ph.D. in international studies from Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia; an M.A. in applied humanities from Al Akhaweyn University in Ifrane, Morocco; and a B.A. in English literature from Ibn Tofail University in Kenitra, Morocco.

Areas of Expertise

Counterterrorism, Countering Violent Extremism, Radicalization

Contact

Email Dr. Boukhars

+1 202-685-7343

⇑ top of list ⇑