تقرير أبحاث ٦

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

الارتقاء بالاحتراف العسكري في أفريقيا

مركز أفريقيا للدراسات الاستراتيجية

٩ يونيو ٢٠٢٠


هناك أمثلة واضحة على ضعف الكفاءة العسكرية في أفريقيا، حيث تتجلى بشكل منتظم في الروايات الإخبارية عن عدم الاستقرار في القارة. وتنهار الجيوش في مواجهة هجمات القوات غير النظامية والانقلابات والتمرد والنهب وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان ضد السكان المدنيين والفساد والمشاركة في أنشطة الاتجار غير المشروع على نطاق واسع. ويستمر هذا النمط بعد عقود من انتهاء الاستعمار، على الرغم من مليارات الدولارات من المساعدات المقدمة من القطاع الأمني والخطاب الطويل الأمد حول الحاجة إلى تعزيز العلاقات المدنية والعسكرية في القارة. إن عدم إنشاء جيوش مهنية قوية له تكاليف مرتفعة تتمثل في: عدم الاستقرار المتواصل، والفقر المزمن، ومنع الاستثمار، وإرهاق الديمقراطية.

إن أسباب عدم القدرة المستمرة على إنشاء جيوش فعالة ومحترمة في العديد من البلدان الأفريقية معقدة، ولكنها تعزى إلى حد كبير للدوافع السياسية. كانت الجيوش الأفريقية التي تم إنشاؤها في الحقبة الاستعمارية تهدف إلى حماية الحكومة من المواطنين بدلاً من حمايتهم. وللقيام بذلك، تم تجنيد الأقليات العرقية في كثير من الأحيان بشكل غير متناسب في الجيوش لمراقبة مجموعات الأغلبية. واستمرت هذه الأنماط في فترة ما بعد الاستعمار، حيث كان لدى القادة العسكريين من مجموعات الأقليات حوافز قوية لمقاومة الانتقال إلى الديمقراطية وحكم الأغلبية. في ظل الافتقار إلى الضوابط والتوازنات المنهجية، تداخلت المصالح السياسية والعسكرية والاقتصادية، وفي بعض الحالات، تكثفت في العقود التي تلت نهاية الاستعمار. ينظر إلى السيطرة على الجيش على أنها وسيلة السلطة والثروة في أفريقيا، لقد ازدهر الفساد، وهذا عزز تسييس الجيش والتنافس المستمر والتواطؤ بين السياسيين وقادة الأمن الذين يسعون إلى كسب اليد العليا. وبالإضافة إلى إضعاف قدرة الجيش بشكل منهجي، أثارت هذه الأنماط تخوفًا عميقًا وعدم ثقة في القطاع الأمني من قبل عامة السكان، ما زاد من عدم الاستقرار والحد من الدعم الشعبي في مكافحة التمرد.

سيتطلب كسر هذه الدوامة من المصالح الخاصة التي تقوض الجهود المبذولة لبناء الاحتراف العسكري في أفريقيا أكثر من بناء القدرات. عوضا عن ذلك، هناك حاجة إلى مبادرات مستدامة لمعالجة العوائق السياسية الأساسية عوائق للإصلاح وإقامة علاقات مدنية عسكرية بناءة. إن العمل كالمعتاد لن يكفي. إن مراجعات الأمن القومي التي تشمل عامة الناس مطلوبة لإعادة تحديد ولاية جيوش أفريقيا في عصر تتركز فيه العديد من التهديدات داخليًا. إن إعادة تنظيم هياكل قوات الأمن لتلائم التهديدات المحددة ودمج المهام في سياسة دفاعية شاملة ومتماسكة ستعزز من ملاءمة الجيوش الأفريقية وقدرتها على العمل وهيبتها.

كجزء من هذه العملية، يجب تحديد مسؤوليات القوات المسلحة للأمة تجاه مواطنيها. هناك حاجة إلى قواعد سلوك واضحة مدعومة بجهد متواصل لاستيعاب القيم الأخلاقية عبر القوة، لتأسيس وتعزيز القواعد الدستورية والنزاهة والخدمة واحترام حقوق الإنسان. ولتعزيز ذلك، ينبغي إنشاء وتطوير أمناء المظالم العسكريين، خارج سلسلة القيادة، لضمان وجود محاسبة على انتهاكات السلوك العسكري. وبالمثل، هناك حاجة إلى عقوبات أقوى للقادة العسكريين والسياسيين المشاركين في تسييس قوات الأمن. بمعنى آخر، فإن الجهود المبذولة للارتقاء بالاحترافية العسكرية يجب أن تتصدى للقادة السياسيين والعسكريين على حد سواء.

هناك حاجة أيضًا إلى آليات رقابة داخلية وخارجية أقوى للجيش لضمان إنفاق التمويل بشكل مناسب لصالح الأمن القومي. ومن الأولويات الخاصة الحاجة إلى مزيد من الإشراف الاستراتيجي على القطاع الأمني من قبل الهيئات التشريعية المسؤولة. يجب على المشرعين الأفارقة أن يناقشوا -بشكل أكثر فاعلية- الغرض والأهداف والسياسات والميزانية والإنفاق وممارسات الترقية وأداء الجيش. للجهات الفاعلة من غير الدول، وخاصة المجتمع المدني ووسائل الإعلام، دور رقابي مهم من خلال زيادة الوعي بدور العسكريين بين عامة الناس وجذب الانتباه إلى مجالات الإصلاح. إن الاحتراف العسكري يتفق مع القيم الأفريقية، وهذا واضح للعيان في بلدان أفريقية مختارة، حيث تم كسر العلاقات بين السياسة والقطاع الأمني، والجيش مؤسسة محترمة ومرحبٌ بها كمُدافعة عن الشعب. إنه طموح جميع المواطنين الأفارقة تقريبًا أن تصبح هذه الصفات هي القاعدة في جميع أنحاء القارة. وكسر دوامة عدم الاستقرار والفقر وسوء الإدارة يعتمد عليه.

قم بتنزيل التقرير

English | Français | Português | العربية | አማርኛ

Africa Center Research Paper No. 6

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Advancing Military Professionalism in Africa

By Emile Ouédraogo

July 31, 2014

Vivid examples of weak military professionalism in Africa are regularly evident in news accounts of instability on the continent. Militaries collapsing in the face of attacks by irregular forces, coups, mutinies, looting, human rights abuses against civilian populations, corruption, and engagement in illicit trafficking activities are widespread. This pattern persists decades after the end of colonialism, despite billions of dollars of security sector assistance and longstanding rhetoric on the need to strengthen civil-military relations on the continent. The costs for not having established strong professional militaries are high: persistent instability, chronic poverty, deterred investment, and stunted democratization.

The reasons for the ongoing inability to establish effective, respected militaries in so many African countries are complex but largely stem from political incentives. African militaries created in the colonial era were intended to protect the government from rather than for citizens. To do this, ethnic minorities were often disproportionately recruited into the militaries as a check on majority groups. These patterns persisted in the post-colonial period as military leaders from minority groups had strong incentives to resist a transition to democracy and majority rule. Lacking systematic checks and balances, the interweaving of political, military, and economic interests has endured and, in some cases, intensified in the decades since the end of colonialism. Control of the military has been seen as the vehicle to power and wealth in Africa. Corruption has flourished. This has fostered a politicization of the military and ongoing competition and collusion among politicians and security leaders seeking to gain the upper hand. In addition to systematically weakening the capacity of the military, these patterns have bred deep fear and distrust of the security sector by the general population, further fueling instability and limiting popular support in combating insurgencies.

Breaking this spiral of vested interests that undermines efforts to build military professionalism in Africa will require more than capacity building. Rather, sustained initiatives are needed to address the fundamental political disincentives to reform and establish constructive civil-military relations. Business as usual will not suffice. National security reviews that include the general public are required to redefine the mandate of Africa’s militaries in an era when many threats are internally based. Reorganizing security force structures to better match identified threats and integrating missions into a comprehensive and coherent defense policy will enhance the relevance, operational capacity, and prestige of Africa’s militaries.

As part of this process, the responsibilities of the nation’s armed forces to its citizens must be specified. A clear code of conduct, supported by a sustained effort to assimilate ethical values across the force, is needed to establish and reinforce norms of constitutionalism, integrity, service, and respect for human rights. To reinforce this, military ombudsmen, outside the chain of command, should be established and strengthened to ensure there is accountability for violations of military conduct. Likewise, stronger sanctions are needed for military and political leaders engaged in the politicization of the security forces. In other words, efforts to strengthen military professionalism must address political as well as military leaders.

More robust internal and external oversight mechanisms of the military are also needed to ensure funding is being appropriately expended in the interests of national security. Of particular priority is the need for more handson strategic oversight of the security sector by the responsible legislative bodies. African legislators must more actively debate the purpose, goals, policies, budget, spending, promotion practices, and performance of the military. Nonstate actors, primarily civil society and the media, also have an important oversight function by raising awareness of the role of the military among the general public and drawing attention to areas of reform.

Military professionalism is consistent with African values. This is clearly visible in select African countries where the ties between politics and the security sector have been broken and the military is a respected institution and welcomed as a defender of the people. It is the aspiration of nearly all African citizens that these attributes become the norm throughout the continent. Breaking the spiral of instability, poverty, and misgovernance depends on it.

Download Full Report

English | Français | Português | አማርኛ

Publication Type: Research Papers

Security Topic(s): Security Sector Governance