31 Résultats de recherche pour "malawi" …

Chercher nos vidéos pour "malawi"

Au Malawi, un scrutin qui dure depuis un an

Éclairage   publié par le Centre d’études stratégiques de l’Afrique le 4 juin 2020

La résistance du président Peter Mutharika à faire respecter l’arrêt de la Cour constitutionnelle du Malawi sur la mise en œuvre des réformes électorales a déclenché une crise constitutionnelle sur les mécanismes de contre-pouvoirs à l’exécutif.

En quoi l’élargissement de l’accès à la justice est-il important pour la sécurité ?

Program Materials  

L'accès à la justice est considéré comme un élément essentiel de l'État de droit, au même titre que des règles et des principes clairs et cohérents pour l'application des lois qui respectent les libertés et les droits fondamentaux, et l'application de la loi à tous grâce à des systèmes fonctionnels de contrôle et d'équilibre. Savoir comment fonctionnent les différents aspects formels et informels du système judiciaire national, quels sont leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients, et comment utiliser les différents mécanismes disponibles, sont des facteurs importants en soi pour la sécurité des citoyens. Au cours de ce webinaire, les panélistes exposeront clairement et proposeront des exemples de plusieurs pays qui illustrent la manière dont l'élargissement de l'accès des citoyens à la justice (par le biais des tribunaux nationaux et des modes alternatifs de résolution des conflits) peut atténuer les facteurs d'insécurité et renforcer l'accomplissement par le secteur de la sécurité de ses devoirs envers la population.

Des cyclones et des tempêtes plus fréquents menacent l’Afrique

Infographic   publié par le Centre d’études stratégiques de l’Afrique le 24 mai 2022

Le réchauffement climatique entraîne une augmentation de la fréquence et de l’intensité des tempêtes en Afrique, ce qui exacerbe d’autres facteurs de stress socio-économiques sur le continent.

Comment les institutions nationales de contrôle influencent-elles la gouvernance du secteur de la sécurité ?

Program Materials  

A Webinar on Thursday, December 3, 2020, designed to expand understanding of the key technological and geopolitical trends driving Africa’s digital revolution of most concern to African security sector professionals; explore the main ways in which rising internet penetration, technological innovation and the diffusion of cyber capabilities are influencing Africa’s national security landscape; discuss and consider how the COVID-19 pandemic influence how the digital revolution will impact Africa’s security landscape; and identify the cyber capabilities and intentions and of key national security actors, including states, criminal networks and terrorist groups.

Les établissements d’enseignement professionnel militaire en Afrique

Infographic   publié par le Centre d’études stratégiques de l’Afrique le 11 mars 2022

Les établissements d’enseignement professionnel militaire ont pour objectif de favoriser des armées capables et apolitiques qui défendent la constitution et servent des dirigeants démocratiquement élus. Pour ce faire, elles doivent cependant être ancrées dans une culture qui renforce ces mêmes valeurs.

Coup d’État en Guinée : Comment faire marche-arrière

Éclairage   publié par Joseph Siegle and Daniel Eizenga le 20 septembre 2021

Reconnaitre le coup en Guinée ne ferait qu’encourager de futures interventions des militaires. Mais rendre son fauteuil à Alpha Condé ne rétablirait pas la démocratie. Plusieurs voies sont néanmoins ouvertes pour restituer l’ordre constitutionnel.

Les drones et les acteurs non étatiques violents en Afrique

Éclairage   publié par Karen Allen le 17 août 2021

Le risque de militarisation de la technologie des drones en Afrique représente un nouvel outil asymétrique que des acteurs non étatiques violents pourraient déployer pour étendre la portée de leur coercition, remodelant ainsi le champ de bataille africain.

Dissiper les mythes du vaccin contre la COVID en Afrique

Éclairage   publié par le Centre d’études stratégiques de l’Afrique le 21 mai 2021

Des mythes divers au sujet du vaccin contre la COVID poussent de nombreux Africains à éviter la vaccination, alors même que de nouveaux variants de coronavirus plus transmissibles se propagent à travers le continent.

L’écheveau tissé par les élections ougandaises

Éclairage   publié par le Centre d’études stratégiques de l’Afrique le 23 février 2021

Les revers importants essuyés par le parti qui a longtemps dominé, le NRM (mouvement de résistance nationale), témoignent du virage politique que prend l’Ouganda, sous l’influence d’un électorat plus jeune et plus mobilisé en faveur d’un changement.

36 Search Results for "malawi" …

Search our video library for "malawi"

Africa Center Holds Symposium on National Security Strategy in Malawi

Community engagement   published by the Africa Center for Strategic Studies on September 18, 2013

The Africa Center for Strategic Studies cohosted a daylong symposium on “National Security Strategy: Development, Resourcing, and Implementation,” in partnership with the U.S. Embassy in Lilongwe and the Africa Center Malawi Community Chapter, September 10, 2013, at the Sunbird Capital Hotel in Lilongwe. The symposium convened a group of 60 security sector experts, including government... Continue Reading

How Does Expanding Access to Justice Matter for Security?

Program Materials  

Access to justice is identified as a core element of rule of law, alongside clear and consistent rules and principles for the application of laws that uphold fundamental rights and freedoms, and the law’s application to all through functional systems of checks and balances. Knowing how different formal and informal aspects of the domestic justice system work, what their pros and cons are, and how to engage the various mechanisms one can choose from are significant contributors in and of themselves to citizen security. In this webinar, panelists will clearly articulate and offer examples from multiple countries that illustrate the ways that expanding citizens’ access to justice (through domestic courts and alternative dispute resolution) can mitigate drivers of insecurity and enhance the security sector’s fulfillment of its duties to the people.

Cyclones and More Frequent Storms Threaten Africa

Infographic   published by the Africa Center for Strategic Studies on May 24, 2022

Global warming is causing an increase in the frequency and intensity of storms in Africa, which are exacerbating other socioeconomic stressors across the continent.

How Do National Oversight Institutions Influence Security Sector Governance?

Program Materials  

This webinar will provide a forum for African experts to explore the strengths and weaknesses of security sector oversight by a range of formal institutions internal to the state that are designed and committed to bolstering democratic and civilian control of the security sector.

Professional Military Education Institutions in Africa

Infographic   published by the Africa Center for Strategic Studies on February 25, 2022

Professional military education institutions aim to foster capable and apolitical militaries to uphold the constitution and serve democratically elected civilian leaders. To do so, however, they must be grounded in a culture that reinforces these values.

Walking Back the Coup in Guinea

Spotlight   published by Joseph Siegle and Daniel Eizenga on September 17, 2021

Recognition of the coup in Guinea would incentivize future military interventions. Yet, simply reinstating President Alpha Condé would not restore democracy. Several possible paths could be followed to return Guinea to constitutional order.

Drones and Violent Nonstate Actors in Africa

Spotlight   published by Karen Allen on August 6, 2021

The risk of militarization of drone technology in Africa represents a new asymmetric tool that violent nonstate groups may deploy to extend the reach of their coercion, reshaping the African battlefield.

Dispelling COVID Vaccine Myths in Africa

Spotlight   published by the Africa Center for Strategic Studies on May 21, 2021

A preponderance of COVID vaccine myths is causing many Africans to forego vaccinations at a time when new, more transmissible coronavirus variants are spreading across the continent.

AMEP Reference Materials

Program  

The Africa Military Education Program (AMEP) helps to strengthen professional military education institutions across the African continent through focused investments in faculty development and improved curriculum design and content.

Untangling Post-Election Uganda

Spotlight   published by the Africa Center for Strategic Studies on February 4, 2021

Sharp losses by the long-ruling NRM party reveal a shifting political landscape in Uganda, reflecting the will of a younger and more energized electorate looking for change.