Print Friendly, PDF & Email

حكم القانون ودور المحاكم العرفية في تحقيق الاستقرار بجنوب السودان

A traditional court in Warrap State, South Sudan (Photo: UNDP South Sudan/Brian Sokol)

A traditional court in Warrap, South Sudan. (Photo: UNDP South Sudan/Brian Sokol)

حكم القانون في دولة ضعيفة

أدى انزلاق جنوب السودان إلى الحرب الأهلية في عام 2013، أي بعد عامين من الاستقلال، إلى تدمير الأسر والمجتمعات والمؤسسات، بما في ذلك المؤسسات القضائية. كانت مؤسسات الدولة هشة بالفعل بعد عقود من الحرب ضد الخرطوم، ولم تخترق أراضيها بعد، وكان الكثير منها ما زال في طور التشكيل. المناطق التي تقع خارج نطاق الدولة لم تكن غير محكومة. لقد لعب الزعماء التقليديون ونسيج غني بالمعايير والقواعد القبلية التي تطوعوا بها لحل النزاعات دوراً لا يقدر بثمن في تجميع المجتمعات، مثلما فعلوا خلال عقود من القتال بين الشمال والجنوب في الحرب الأهلية السودانية وعلى الرغم من التحديات المتعددة التي واجهوها.

لقد عانت دولة جنوب السودان الجديدة من عسكرة الحياة الخاصة والعامة والإفلات من العقاب والحكم الشخصي. ونتيجة لذلك، عانت الدستورية وسيادة القانون – وهما ركنان لدولة يحكمها القانون. كيف يمكن إذا أن يساعد حكم القانون على الاستقرار في جنوب السودان؟ على وجه الخصوص، ما هو الدور الذي يسهم به القضاء، بما في ذلك المحاكم العرفية التي تشكل الدرجات الأدنى لنظام العدالة الرسمي، في هذا المشروع؟

ثقافة البندقية وغياب سيادة القانون

عبر المعلقون عن أسفهم للدور العسكري الأكثر من الطبيعي في جنوب السودان الذي يزعم أنه ديمقراطي يحكمه مدنيون. هذه الحالة تميز المستوى المتدني لحكم القانون المستمر في جنوب السودان. وتنص سيادة القانون على وجود دولة يخضع فيها الجميع، دون استثناء، للقانون، ويسمح للقانون والمؤسسات الأخرى بالعمل، ويتم التوسط في النزاعات من حيث القواعد والإجراءات المعمول بها. يواجه جنوب السودان مشكلة سيادة القانون منذ ولادته. وقد تميز هذا بإضفاء طابع شخصي على السلطة والمؤسسات الضعيفة بما في ذلك السلطة القضائية التي تخضع للسلطة التنفيذية وانتشار ثقافة العنف وانعدام الثقة في المؤسسات والتأثير العسكري المتفشي على الحياة العامة، بما في ذلك على إدارة العدالة فقط و تسوية المنازعات.

في تقريرها الأساسي لعام 2013 عن القضاء السوداني الجنوبي، شجبت اللجنة الدولية للحقوقيين الضعف الظاهر في حكم القانون في جنوب السودان. وقد أوضحت هذه النتيجة بالإشارة إلى قضية جنرال من الجيش الشعبي لتحرير السودان واجه دعوى قضائية في المحكمة العليا في جوبا، حيث “قام القاضي زيارة” بصحبة رجال مسلحين وطالب بمعرفة متى يكون الحكم جاهزا. في حين أن هذا يشكل حالة متطرفة من ترهيب ضابط قضائي، فإنه من أعراض الأعمال الأخرى التي تعرض استقلالية القضاء للخطر. وبالمثل، حيث أن القيود المفروضة على قدرة السلطة القضائية الرسمية – عدم كفاية عدد القضاة وعدد محدود من المحاكم التي تخدم أراضي شاسعة وضعف ظروف العمل للموظفين القضائيين – تحد من وصول المؤسسات القانونية في الدولة الجديدة.

“تشير السجلات إلى أن عددًا كبيرًا من القضايا التي تصل إلى المحاكم … يتم النظر فيها قبل محاكم متدنية المستوى تتبع القوانين العرفية ولكن تلعب دورا ويرأسها رؤساء”.

يقتصر اختصاص المحاكم العرفية، المنشأة بموجب قانون الحكومة المحلية لعام 2009، على قانون “النزاعات العرفية”. ولكن من الناحية العملية، تنظر هذه امحاكم وتصدر الأحكام في مجموعة واسعة من القضايا التي تشمل السرقة والاعتداء والاغتصاب والقتل لأن المحاكم العرفية غالباً ما تكون “اللعبة الوحيدة في المدينة” أو يفضلها المتقاضون أمام المحاكم النظامية الرسمية. وتشير السجلات إلى أن عددًا كبيرًا من القضايا التي تصل إلى المحاكم – ما بين 55 و90 بالمائة – يتم النظر فيها من قبل المحاكم العرفية التي يتم تصنيفها بعد أن تم التقليل من شأنها والتي يعمل فيها الرؤساء. وهكذا، تملأ هذه المحاكم فجوة كبيرة في توفير خدمات التحكيم التي تتركها العدالة الرسمية، وهي حاسمة الأهمية للأمن في المناطق الريفية والبلدات في جنوب السودان.

تحديات ومرونة المحاكم العرفية

على الرغم من الدور الذي تلعبه المحاكم العرفية في تحقيق العدالة وتوفير الأمن للمواطنين، فقد واجهت هذه المؤسسة الحيوية ضغوطات بسبب فترات الحرب الممتدة. وقد شمل ذلك التخويف من قبل الجيش الذي يسيطر على المناطق المحررة وكذلك إضعاف سلطة قادة المجتمع في أعين المنفيين العائدين الذين تغيرت آراؤهم عن التقاليد عبر تجاربهم الحية.

كما أن المحاكم العرفية في جنوب السودان مقيدة أيضاً بسبب وضعها داخل البيروقراطية الحكومية المحلية، وهو أمر معترف به على نطاق واسع على أنه غير فعال ولا يقدم الكثير من الدعم. ويجد الرؤساء أحيانًا صعوبة في فرض قراراتهم، وقد يخصعون أحيانًا للتهديد بالعنف الجسدي .1 كما أن القادة التقليديين يعانون أيضًا من النزاعات الكبيرة بين المجتمعات التي تتعلق بالوصول إلى المراعي والمياه.

يضيف انتشار الأسلحة في عموم السكان في جنوب السودان طبقة أخرى من الصعوبة .2 في غياب وجود موثوق به للشرطة في المناطق الريفية، يجب على المحاكم العرفية التي يرأسها الرؤساء في بعض الأحيان الاعتماد على الجيش الشعبي لتحرير السودان للالتزام بالقانون والنظام أدوار لتوفير الأمن وإنفاذ قرارات المحاكم العرفية. ﻏﺎﻟﺒﺎً ﻣﺎ ﻻ ﻳﻠﻌﺐ الجيش اﻟﺸﻌﺒﻲ ﻟﺘﺤﺮﻳﺮ اﻟﺴﻮدان هﺬا اﻟﺪور وﻟﻜﻨﻪ عوضا عﻦ ذﻟﻚ يساعد على اﻹﻓﻼت ﻣﻦ اﻟﻌﻘﺎب، ﻣﻤﺎ ﻳﺘﺮك اﻟﻤﻮاﻃﻨﻴﻦ دون أي مكان يلجؤون إليه عندما يعانون ﻣﻦ الانتهاكات وهذا يقوض احترام القانون، مما يزيد من تعقيد عمل الزعماء ويزيد من تفاقم حالة انعدام الأمن السائدة في المناطق الريفية.

وبينما تظل المحاكم العرفية غير كافية بطرق عديدة، فإن غياب القانون سيسود في أجزاء كبيرة من الإقليم في غيابها. وفي الواقع، فإن الأمم المتحدة، التي أنشأت “لجان حل النزاعات” المنتخبة في مخيمات النازحين داخلياً، أدركت الدور الحاسم الذي تلعبه المؤسسات التقليدية في تقديم خدمات التحكيم خلال النزاع الحالي.

على الرغم من هذه التحديات، قدمت المحاكم العرفية مساهمات مهمة في مبادرات تعزيز الاستقرار في جنوب السودان. على سبيل المثال، خلال السنوات الأخيرة من الحرب الأهلية مع الخرطوم، عقد مؤتمر السلام من قبل قادة المجتمع في ونلييت بين مجتمعات الضفة الغربية لنهر النيل ونظرائهم من الضفة الشرقية – بمشاركة الجهات المسلحة الفاعلة وتسهيل مجلس الكنائس – مما ساعد على تهدئة المجتمعات المتناحرة. وفي نفس الوقت تم توحيد الخصوم الجنوبيين، مما أدى إلى تسريع عملية السلام بين نظام الخرطوم وجنوب السودان. علاوة على ذلك، تم قمع العنف الذي اجتاح ولاية جونقلي في عام 2012 من خلال مزيج من الخيار المشترك (سياسة “الخيمة الكبيرة”) وعقد عملية سلام شبيهة بعملية السلام في ولاية ونلييت شملت العديد من المجتمعات. ولما كان تفضيل المنتديات التقليدية من جانب قطاعات كبيرة من السكان يرجع جزئيا إلى التقديس الذي لا يزال ينظر إليه إلى كبار السن والعادات، فإن من شأن تمكين هؤلاء  أن يجني ثمار حكم القانون على المستوى الوطني أيضا.

بناء الدولة وتدخلات سيادة القانون

بخلاف تدريب عدد قليل من القضاة والضباط العدليين والمدعين العامين الذين كانوا متواجدين خلال فترة اتفاقية السلام ما بعد السلام الشامل، يعاني قطاع العدالة من نقص حاد في الموظفين القضائيين والمدعين العامين. علاوة على ذلك، جاءت أول عملية توظيف كبيرة للقضاة الجدد في عام 2013 في تزامن مع بداية هذه الحرب الأهلية إلى حد بعيد ومع ذلك لم تحسن بشكل كبير من تقديم الخدمات. كما يفتقر قطاع العدالة إلى البنية التحتية، حيث توجد المرافق القليلة الموجودة في جوبا.

في فترة ما بعد الاستقلال، اتخذ الدعم الموجه إلى المحاكم العرفية شكل التدريب من قبل بعثة الأمم المتحدة في جنوب السودان وشركاء آخرين. وتشير الأدلة القصصية إلى أن هذه التدخلات ربما لم يكن لها تأثير واضح بسبب وجود العديد من العوامل الهيكلية بما في ذلك انخفاض مستويات معرفة القراءة والكتابة والممارسات العرفية التي قد تميز ضد النساء والشباب وعدم التجانس من حيث المعايير العرفية التي تمارسها المجتمعات المختلفة في جنوب مختلف السودان والانعدام المزمن للأمن.

إن جهود برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي لتوثيق القوانين العرفية ومواءمتها تسير بخطى بطيئة، وهي ذات نطاق ضيق، وانقطعت بسبب النزاع الذي اندلع عام 2013. (3) ويشكل ربط وإحالة القضايا بين المحاكم العرفية والعدد المحدود لمحاكم الصلح (في كل مقاطعة) التي يجب أن تمارس دورا إشرافيا على السابق أيضا إشكالية. وقد حسنت المحاكم الدائرة (المحكمة العليا) التي أدخلت على أساس تجريبي من قبل رئيس القضاة في منطقتين تقديم الخدمات القضائية ولكن لم يتم تمويلها بشكل كافٍ.

ويعكس الدعم غير الكافي للمحاكم العرفية إهمال الحكومات المحلية وحكومات الولايات فيما يتعلق بمؤسسات الحكومة الوطنية. وقد كان لذلك آثار متعددة، بما في ذلك زيادة فاعلية الصراعات المحلية والفرص الضائعة لبناء ثقافة حكم القانون من القاعدة الشعبية وترك المحيط غير خاضع للقانون في الغالب. وقد أدى هذا إلى ترسيخ استخدام القوة وانعدام الأمن حيث يلجأ المواطنون إلى انتهاكها من أجل “حل” نزاعاتهم.

توصيات

إن سيادة القانون جزء لا يتجزأ من الاستقرار المستقبلي لجنوب السودان. في حين سيتم تشكيل سيادة القانون من خلال السياق السياسي الأوسع في جنوب السودان، فإن نشر نطاق المحاكم غير الرسمية في المساحات غير المحكومة في البلاد سيكون عنصراً حيوياً في أي سيناريو لتحقيق الاستقرار. وتشمل الأولويات في هذا الصدد ما يلي.

توسيع نطاق الوصول إلى تدريب قانوني أساسي لمدة شهر من قبل 1500 مساعدا قانونيا لتقديم المشورة وتوجيه رؤساء المحاكم العرفية في المسائل القانونية. وبالإضافة إلى تعزيز الأسس القانونية لهذه المحاكم، فإن توسيع نطاق استخدام المساعدين القانونيين سيوفر المزيد من الفرص لمشاركة النساء والشباب، مما يجعلهم أكثر تمثيلاً للمجتمعات التي يخدمونها.

وضع إطار وطني (قانون التنسيق) على أساس الدستور وحقوق الإنسان والقوانين الجنائية. وهذا من شأنه أن يخلق التوحيد فيما يتعلق بكيفية عمل المحاكم العرفية وإتاحة الفرص لتقاسم الخبرات بين هيئات القانون العرفي من مختلف أنحاء البلد.

يجب أن يعمل الإطار الوطني على فصل المحاكم العرفية عن الطبقة الثالثة غير الممولة من الحكومة – الحكومة المحلية – ووضعها في حظيرة القضاء الوطني. وهذا من شأنه أن يعالج مشكلة تهميش المحاكم العرفية، ويؤكد دورها الحاسم في تحقيق العدالة والأمن للمواطنين وتعزيز الرقابة عليها من قبل القضاة والقضاة وبناء قدراتهم من خلال توفير الموارد، بما في ذلك المكافأة الرمزية للحكام.

وكجزء من جهد أوسع للإصلاح القضائي، يجب تعزيز المحاكم العرفية بدعم أكبر من الشرطة المحلية التي يمكنها إنفاذ الامتثال للقرارات. وسيتطلب ذلك تجنيد المزيد من أفراد الشرطة وتدريبهم ونشرهم لتوفير الأمن لأفرقة القانون العرفي ولتيسير تنفيذ قراراتهم.

تحسين التنسيق وإجراءات الإحالة بين المحاكم الرسمية والمحاكم العرفية. ويدعو ذلك إلى توسيع نطاق السجلات في المحاكم الرسمية لإتاحة تقديم الملفات والتوثيق ونقل القضايا بين المحاكم عند مراجعة الحقائق من قبل قاضٍ أو ضابط عدلي أو أمين سجل. ومن شأن تسجيل قادة المجتمعات المحلية المشاركين في المحاكم العرفية أن ييسر التنظيم والتدريب والمكافآت وحفظ السجلات والعقوبات حسب الاقتضاء.

د. غودفري موسيلا هو زميل باحث في مركز إفريقيا للدراسات الاستراتيجية. كان المؤلف الرئيسي للتقرير النهائي للجنة التحقيق التابعة للاتحاد الإفريقي حول جنوب السودان (2014) وعمل مفوضاً في لجنة الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان في جنوب السودان.

Notes

  1. David K. Deng, “Challenge of Accountability: An Assessment of Dispute Resolution Processes in Rural South Sudan” (Juba: South Sudan Law Society, 2012), 32-33.
  2. Ibid.
  3. Tiernan Mennen, “Study on the Harmonization of Customary Laws and the National Legal System in South Sudan” (Juba: United Nations Development Programme, 2016).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Rule of Law and the Role of Customary Courts in Stabilizing South Sudan

A traditional court in Warrap State, South Sudan (Photo: UNDP South Sudan/Brian Sokol)

A traditional court in Warrap, South Sudan. (Photo: UNDP South Sudan/Brian Sokol)

Rule of Law in a Weak State

South Sudan’s descent into civil war in 2013, 2 years after independence, has devastated families, communities, and institutions—including judicial institutions. Already fragile following decades of war against Khartoum, state institutions had yet to penetrate throughout the territory, and many were still in the process of formation. Areas that lay beyond the reach of the state were nevertheless not ungoverned. Traditional chiefs and the rich tapestry of tribal norms and rules they applied to resolve disputes have played an invaluable role in holding communities together, much as they had during the decades of North-South fighting in the Sudanese Civil War, despite the multiple challenges they faced.

The new state of South Sudan has struggled with the militarization of private and public life, impunity, and personalized rule. As a consequence, constitutionalism and the rule of law—twin pillars of a state governed by law—have suffered. How, then, can the rule of law help establish stability in South Sudan? In particular, what role does the judiciary, including customary courts that constitute the lower rungs of the formal justice system, contribute to this enterprise?

Of Gun Culture and Absence of Rule of Law

Commentators have lamented the larger-than-normal role of the military in an ostensibly democratic, civilian-governed South Sudan. This state of affairs characterizes the low level of rule of law that persists in South Sudan. Rule of law connotes a state in which all, without exception, are subject to the law, the law and other institutions are allowed to function, and conflicts are mediated in terms of established rules and procedure. South Sudan has had a rule of law problem since its birth. This has been characterized by personalization of power, weak institutions including the judiciary which is subservient to the executive, a culture of violence, a lack of trust in institutions, and a pervasive military influence on public life, including on the administration of justice and resolution of disputes.

In its seminal 2013 report on the South Sudanese judiciary, the International Commission of Jurists decried the apparent weakness of the rule of law in South Sudan. It illustrated this finding with the case of an SPLA general who, faced with a lawsuit at the High Court in Juba, “paid the judge a visit” in the company of armed men and demanded to know when the judgment would be ready. While this constitutes an extreme case of intimidation of a judicial officer, it is symptomatic of other actions that compromise the independence of the judiciary. Equally, the capacity limitations of the formal judiciary—insufficient number of judges, limited number of courts over a vast territory, and poor working conditions for judicial officers—restrict the reach of legal institutions in the new state.

“Records suggest that an overwhelming number of cases that reach the courts … are decided by the underrated yet critical customary courts staffed by chiefs.”

The jurisdiction of customary courts, established under the Local Government Act of 2009, are limited in law to “customary disputes.” In practice, however, they hear and determine a wide range of cases that include theft, assault, rape, and homicide primarily because the customary courts are often “the only game in town” or litigants prefer them to formal statutory courts. Records suggest that an overwhelming number of cases that reach the courts—between 55 and 90 percent—are decided by the underrated yet critical customary courts staffed by chiefs. These courts, thus, fill a major gap in the provision of arbitral services left by formal justice, and are critical to security in rural areas and towns in South Sudan.

The Challenges and Resilience of Customary Courts

In spite of the role customary courts play in the delivery of justice and provision of security for citizens, this vital institution has faced strains due to the extended periods of war. This has included intimidation by the military that controlled liberated areas as well as the weakening of the authority of community leaders in the eyes of returning exiles whose views of tradition have been transformed by their lived experiences.

Customary courts in South Sudan are also constrained by being placed within the local government bureaucracy, which is widely recognized as ineffective and provides little support. Chiefs sometimes find it difficult to enforce their decisions and have, on occasion, been threatened with physical violence.1 Traditional leaders are also hamstrung in terms of larger conflicts between communities relating to access to pastures and water.

The proliferation of arms within the general population in South Sudan adds another layer of difficulty.2 In the absence of a reliable police presence in rural areas, customary courts headed by chiefs must at times rely on the SPLA to step into law-and-order roles to provide security and to enforce customary court decisions. Too often, however, the SPLA does not fill this role but instead acts with impunity, leaving citizens without recourse when they suffer violations. This undermines respect for the law, further complicating the work of chiefs and compounding the insecurity prevailing in rural areas.

While customary courts remain inadequate in many ways, in their absence, lawlessness would reign in large swaths of the territory. In fact, the critical role that traditional institutions play in the delivery of arbitral services during the current conflict has been recognized by the United Nations, which has set up elected “conflict resolution committees” in camps for internally displaced people.

“The customary courts have made important contributions to initiatives strengthening stability in South Sudan.”

Despite these challenges, the customary courts have made important contributions to initiatives strengthening stability in South Sudan. For example, during the last years of the civil war with Khartoum, the convening of a peace conference by community leaders at Wunliet between communities of the western bank of the Nile and their eastern bank counterparts—with the participation of armed actors and facilitation of the Council of Churches—pacified the feuding communities. It simultaneously united southern antagonists, thereby accelerating the peace process between the Khartoum regime and southern Sudan. Moreover, violence that engulfed Jonglei State in 2012 was quelled through a mix of co-option (the “Big Tent” policy) and the convening of a Wunliet-like peace process involving several communities. As preference for traditional forums by large sections of the population is, in part, due to the reverence with which elders and customs are still viewed, empowering them would reap dividends for the rule of law at the national level as well.

State Building and Rule of Law Interventions

Other than training for the small number of judges, magistrates, and prosecutors who were in place during the post-Comprehensive Peace Agreement period, the justice sector suffers from an acute shortage of judicial officers and prosecutors. Moreover, the first major hire of new judges in 2013 came too close to the start of this civil war and has not significantly improved service delivery. The justice sector also lacks infrastructure, with the few facilities that exist concentrated in Juba.

In the post-independence era, support directed at customary courts took the form of training by the United Nations Mission in South Sudan and other partners. Anecdotal evidence suggests that these interventions may not have had a discernible impact due to a multitude of structural factors including low levels of literacy, customary practices that may discriminate against women and youth, heterogeneity in terms of customary norms practiced by different communities in a diverse South Sudan, and chronic insecurity.

The United Nations Development Programme’s effort to document and harmonize customary laws has proceeded at a slow pace, is of narrow scope, and was interrupted by the 2013 conflict.3 The link and referral of cases between customary courts and the limited number of magistrate courts (in each county) that should exercise a supervisory role over the former is problematic. Circuit courts (High Court) introduced on a trial basis by the Chief Justice in two regions ameliorated the delivery of judicial services but were not funded adequately.

The inadequate support for customary courts mirrors the neglect of local and state governments in relation to national government institutions. This has had multiple effects, including increasing the potency of local conflicts, missed opportunities to build a culture of the rule of law from the grassroots, and leaving the periphery mostly ungoverned by law. This has also entrenched the use of force and insecurity as citizens resort to violence to “resolve” their disputes.

Recommendations

The rule of law is integral to the future stability of South Sudan. While the rule of law will be shaped by the broader political context in South Sudan, spreading the reach of informal courts into the country’s ungoverned spaces will be a vital component of any stability scenario. Priorities in this regard include the following.

Expand access to a month-long basic legal training for 1,500 paralegals to advise and guide the customary court chiefs on legal matters. In addition to strengthening the legal grounding of these courts, expanding the use of paralegals would create more opportunities for the participation of women and youth, making them more representative of the communities that they serve.

Develop a national framework (harmonization law) based on the constitution, human rights, and criminal laws. This would create uniformity in terms of how customary courts operate and provide opportunities for the sharing of experiences among customary law panels from different parts of the country.

The national framework must delink customary courts from the underfunded third tier of government—local government—and bring them within the fold of the national judiciary. This would respond to the marginalization of customary courts, affirm their critical role in the delivery of justice and security for citizens, enhance oversight over them by judges and magistrates, and build their capacity by providing resources, including token remuneration for adjudicators.

As part of a broader judicial reform effort, customary courts must be strengthened with greater support from local police who can enforce compliance with decisions. This will require recruiting, training, and deploying more police to provide security to customary law panels and to facilitate the implementation of their decisions.

Improve coordination and referral procedures between formal courts and customary courts. This calls for the expansion of registries in formal courts to make provision for filing, documentation, and transfer of cases between courts upon a review of the facts by a magistrate, judge, or registrar. The registration of community leaders involved with customary courts would facilitate regulation, training, remuneration, record-keeping, and sanctioning as required.

Dr. Godfrey Musila is an expert on international law and justice. He has served as a research fellow at the Africa Center for Strategic Studies and commissioner on the United Nations Commission on Human Rights in South Sudan.

Notes

  1. David K. Deng, “Challenge of Accountability: An Assessment of Dispute Resolution Processes in Rural South Sudan” (Juba: South Sudan Law Society, 2012), 32-33.
  2. Ibid.
  3. Tiernan Mennen, “Study on the Harmonization of Customary Laws and the National Legal System in South Sudan” (Juba: United Nations Development Programme, 2016).