Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ترويض فـــــئة حــاملي البنــــادق الغالبة في جنوب السودان

فئة "البنــــــادقة" {حاملي البنادق} – هي الطبقة التي نتجت من إنصهار قادة الأمن مع السلطة السياسية، والطبقات الإجتماعية، والفــئات العرقية – وهي في قلب "نظام الحكم المفترس" الذي تأصل ودبت جذوره وسيطرت على خناق الأمور في جنوب السودان. تغيير هذا المسار يتطلب إعادة تعريف للأدوار التي يلعبها كل من الســياسيون والأمنيون.

South Sudan fighters in Leer - northern South Sudan. Photo: UNMISS

Fighters in Leer, South Sudan. (Photo: UNMISS)

إعـــــاقة  التنمية السياسية

في جنوب السودان وفي المراحل الأولى بعد الإستقلال، وعند بدايات تكوين الدولة، لعب الجيش، “جيش التحرير الشعبي السوداني” (SPLA) دوراً  أكبر من دوره الطبيعي في نظام الحكم. في الواقع، عادة ما ينحســر دور الجيوش بعد الإستقلال وتتوارى في الخلفية السياسية مع تطور الحياة الديمقراطية. ولكن هناك بلدان فيها “العسكرية الارستقراطية” تهيمن على الحياة العامة. بالإضافة إلى هذا، فهناك بعض  الخبراء من الإصلاحيين المدفوعين دائماً بميل معين للتغيير الاجتماعي، ولكن غالباً ما توجد فجوة بين شعاراتهم وممارساتهم.

على عكس الفترات التاريخية السابقة التي تميزت بالاختلافات الأيديولوجية، فإن مدبري الانقلابات  المعاصرين والمتمردين في أفريقيا يميلون  إلى تكوين نخبة  حاكمة متماسكة هدفها الرئيسي تقاسم الريع والدخل والسلطة. ولذلك تكون القيادة الذي تنبثق من هذه الأجــندة هي التي تساهم في تشكيل هياكل الحركات المتمردة. هذا، بدوره، يؤثر على مسار أي من الحكومات التي تبرز في فترات لاحقة.

في جنوب السودان، تسببت هيمنة “جيش التحرير الشعبي السوداني” (SPLA)، بعد أن حصلت على استقلالها بحــد السيف في عام 2011، في الحيلولة دون بناء مؤسسات فعالة.  ما سبب هذا الفشل الذريع؟  انعدام الالتزام بإصلاح الجيش والاستخبارات  ووكالات إنفاذ القانون وإنقاذهم من الركود والضمور السريع في المرحلة الجنينية من مراحل تشكيل الدولة. فبدلاً من ذلك، قد تحول الجيش الشعبي إلى طبقة أرستقراطية تنكســية مدججــة بالأسلحة تمتطي المجالات الاجتماعية والثقافية والسياسية والاقتصادية وتسيطر عليها مثل العملاق.

التطور التاريخي لفئة “البنـــادقة” في جنوب السودان

نزعة جنوب السودان للعنف والصراع وعجزها عن الحصول على عمق مؤسسي يمثل مشكلة واسعة وعميقة. ويعود هذا جزئيــاً إلى عسكرة جميع جوانب الحياة والمجتمع وهذا يرجع تاريخياً إلى فترات العبودية والاستعمار. فقد سيطرت النخب ذات المصالح الذاتية نتيجة لأستحدامها للعنف. ففي الماضي، قدمت هذه الخبة الهيبة العسكرية للمشروع الاستعماري الاستخراجي الجنود والنهب. وبعد ذلك، استخدمت الترتيبات المماثلة التي أسفرت عن تطهير الوطن من الاحتلال الأجنبي – لا سيما من استعمار “جلبه السودانية”.

Egypt under Muhammad Ali Dynasty map . 1805 - 1914

The reach of Muhammad Ali Pasha’s Dynasty, 1805–1914.

تشكيل فئة البنــادقة الغالبة في جنوب السودان يرجع  أصله إلى الحرب والعبودية، عندما غزا محمد على باشا، “والي مصر”، في عام 1821، السودان وكان هدفه الرئيسي أسر العبيد لتوفير القوى العاملة.  وبعــد عقود من الحكم “الأنجلو-مصري”، إكتسب السودان الإستقلال في 1 يناير 1956. ومع ذلك، فقد تولدت المعارضــة نتيجة لعدم الاكتراث لمناشدات سكان المناطق الجنوبية بالسودان ومناداتهم ورغبتهم في الحصول على مزيد من الاستقلال الذاتي بدلاً من الهيمنة الشمالية. وتوجت هذه العملية بتمرد “الفيلق العسكري الاستوائي السوداني” في توريت في الأشهر التي سبقت الاستقلال. وكأن هذا كان بمثابة إطلاق الحرب الأهلية الأولى.  وقد حولت حركة “آنيـــا-نيـــا” والثورات اللاحقة؛ والتي كانت تدفعها جهات خارجية. و في عام 1972، تم إنشاء إدارة شبه ذاتية الحكم لجنوب السودان عقب التوقيع على “اتفاق أديس أبابا”. ومع ذلك، ســيطر الأفــاندية {الطبقة النبيلة من النخب العرقية السياسية}، والذين تم وصفهم في وقت لاحق بواسطة حركة التحرير (SPLM)  في برنامجها التشغيلي  عام 1983 بوصفهم “النخب الجنوبية البرجوازية العرقية”، التي هيمنت على السياسة في الفترة التي تلت 1972. جنبا إلى جنب مع هذه الطبقة السياسية المزدهرة، بدأ المتمردون السابقون بشغل المناصب العليا في الحكومة ويتحكمون في  الوسائل الاقتصادية للمجتمع. وأصبحت طبقة المتمردين تدرك مصالحها المشتركة كطبقة أخرى من الطبقات  الاجتماعية المتميزة.

في نهاية المطاف، تحالف النخب المتعلمة مع المسلحين المدججين وتعاونوا على تشريد فئات النخبة من “الإدارة الاستعمارية السابقة الأنجلو-مصرية”.   واستمر الصراع الطبقي الضمني بين كل من فئــات المشيخة، والأفــندية، والمتمردين السابقين. وهذا يفسر لماذا  كان “جيش التحرير الشعبي السوداني” (SPLA) ممانعاً ومعترضاً في البداية على مطالب مشروع إعادة الهيكلة السياسية والإدارية. مما أدى إلى تعطيل أنشطة تطوير المؤسسات خارج الجيش وحركة التحرير.

John Garang

John Garang.

ومع استئناف الحرب الأهلية في عام 1983، تم تفكك المؤسسات المدنية والتقليدية الناشئة  ومؤسسات الإدارة العامة التي أنشئت في الجنوب أثناء فترة “الحكم شبه الذاتي”  أو تم تجاهلها بالكامل. وبينما إمتدت الحرب وطال أمدها وتم تحرير مناطق في الجنوب، بدأ الجيش يسيطر على الإدارة، وبالتالي تمهيد الطريق “لفئـــة البنـــــادقة” بأن تزدهر وأن تهيمن على النظام السياسي الشامل بعد اتفاق السلام (CPA)

عند صعوده إلى السلطة، وفي أعقاب وفاة “جون قرنق” في حادث تحطم مروحية في 30 يوليه 2005، تخلى “سالفا كيير” عن الخطة التي وضعها قرنق لفصل الجيش الشعبي SPLA من جيش تحرير السودان SPLM  ووضع الجيش الشعبي SPLA تحت السيطرة المدنية. أوقفت هذه خطط “كــير” السياسة والمعروفة باسم  “الخيمة الكبيرة”، والتي بمحتواها تم منح العفو الميليشيات وإدماجها في الجيش الشعبي SPLA، مما نتج عنه تقويض جهود الإصلاح. ونتيجة لذلك احتفظت الزمرة الحاكمة بسيطرتها على زمام الأمور. وكانت المحصلة تولد نظام أمني عنيف ومثقل ويفتقر إلى التنوع.

تفعيل العنف

في جنوب السودان، يعتمد الحراك الاجتماعي أساساً على خمســة أركان رئيسية: البنادق، والثروة، والدين، والتعليم، والقبيلة، والتي غالباً ما توجد في “حلقة تغذية مرتدة مفرغة ومتكررة”.  وكان صعود النخب “الفخورة بالذات العرقي” متلازماً مع درجة التعليم التي حصلوا عليها في السابق. كما إستخدم بعض “الأنبيــاء المحليين” ذات الميول المسيحية أو اليهودية، مثل نبي النوير في القرن التاسع عشر “نجوندينج بونغ” الذي إستخدم قوة الدين لتعبئة الحلفاء.

كل من مجموعات النخب هـذه استخدمت الأسلحة النارية لزيادة قوتها. على هذا النحو، كانت إمكانية الحصول على الأسلحة النارية والثروة هي العوامل الحاسمة لتعزيز المركز الاجتماعي المتميز.

لقــد بنى أمراء الحرب شبكات موازية من الكهنة ذوي المستحقات {بريبانداريز}، جعلتهم  يشعرون أن لديهم الحق في الحصول على الإيرادات العامة لمصالحهم الخاصة. فقاموا بتخصيص  الوظائف العامة والإيجارات المالية لأنصارهم والأفراد الموالين لهم كشكل من أشكال المحسوبية. وقد تم  تحديد مستوى السلطة السياسية على أساس الروابط التراثية وعلى أساس درجة  الولاء للزعيم بالسلطة السياسية،  وعلى أساس نصيب القائد منهم من مخصصات الموارد العامة. وقد إعتمد الحراك التصاعدي بين طبقات المجتمع على درجة التحكم في أساليب الإكــراه. ونتيجة لذلك، أصبح  أهم العوامل في الحياز على السطوة والسلطة والنفوذ وإمكانية الوصول إلى وسائل الإستهلاك هو درجة إحتكار الفرد {أو الطبقة الإجتماعيىة} لوسائل الإكراه.

وقد ساهمت وفرة المجندين من قبيلة أو عشيرة أحد القادة، بالإضافة إلى توفر قدر  من الدعم الخارجي؛ وهو ما يرتبط غالباً بإمكانية الحصول على البنادق؛ أعطت ضمانات متينة لأي زعيم معين بأن تكون له الغلبة.  الأصل العرقي أصبح أداة هائلة القــوة لتعزيز الولاءات التراثيـــة. كما وفرت المزايا  الأدبية، والاعتماد على السحر، وعلى والآلهة المحليين، وأعطت بعض أمراء الحرب ميزة تنافسية أعلى من منافسيه.  وفي ظل هذه الظروف، ظهرت مجموعة جديدة من المهارات التنظيمية والقدرات الإدارية، ومجموعة من القيم الإجتماعية وأثرت في روح الجمهور من الشعب.  لا غرابة، أن حرمة الدولة وإحتكارها لوسائل العنف أصبحت هي العرف المشروع مع ظهور فئة البنـــــادقة في جميع المتغيرات والمناحي الإجتماعية؛ مما نتج عنه تشويه صورة الدولة.  في حين قطع استقلال جنوب السودان من السودان الأشكال التقليدية للهيمنة الأجنبية بواسطة فئة جــالبـه المركانتيلية في الشمال، إلا أن المبدأ الأساسي في تحكم العرقي المبني على أساس هيمنة فئة عسكرية  لا يزال موجوداً.

حتى لو ظلت الدولة غنيمة  للمتخاصمين، فقد تم تفريغ قدرات  دولة “جنوب السودان” القضائية والتشريعية والإدارية. وقد تقلصت المساحة المتاحة للأصوات المستقلة مثل “جمعيات المجتمع المدني” إلى حد كبير. وساهم خليط  الفساد، والعنف، والتعبئة العرقية في وضع البلاد على حافة الدرج إلى الهاوية.   وسط هذا الفراغ – ولكنه كان جهداً متعمداً بواسطة أمراء الحرب لدعم قواهم الطائفية – ظهرت لجان الأمن الأهلية في المجتمع لتحقيق نوع من الأمن الجماعي لقطاعات معينة من الســكان (3).  علاوة على ذلك، فقد ساهم اقتصاد الحرب المربحة في الجنوب وشجع  “المتمردين الســودانيين الجُــدد”  وشبكات الكارتل للتنافس في نهب الغنائم من السوق.

الافتقار إلى الإرادة السياسية ﻹصـــلاح قطاع الأمن، والقضاء على المشكلة الشــريرة المتمثلة في  “هيمنة فئة البنــــــادقة” لا تزال العقبة الرئيسية في عملية بناء الدولة في جنوب السودان. حتى الآن، “مجـرد التفكير في مختلف مؤسسات الأمن [في جنوب السودان] كملحقات تابعة للدولة  وخاضعة لسيطرتها يعتبر أساسا ســـوء فهم لطبيعة المجتمع في جنوب السودان (4).  إن جنوب السودان يمثل حالة شاذة “حيث أن الجيــش قد أخذ البلاد كرهــينة”.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فالبلــد يتحرك ببـــطء تجاه  حالة “اللا دولة”(5). ولذلك فإن تزايد المبادرات التي تدعو إلى “إصلاح قطاع الأمن” في مواجهة “فئة البنــــادقـة”  التي يبدو أنها قد ترسخت وتغلغلت في “لعبة” السياسة والتي تنتظم  حول الفواصل العرقية، ويصبح  الإصلاح  مهمة شاقة بل أقرب إلى محاولة صيد ثعبان البيثــان في الطين.

سيناريوهات الخروج الممكنة

لا يتم إنشاء القواعد التنظيمية الجديدة والمذاهب والتعاليم والمعتقدات الأمنية البديلة والفعالة إلا عندما تكون هناك إرادة سياسية  للتجديد والتغيير. عادة ما تتسبب المحن الاجتماعية المتكررة في بداية الحياة  إلى دفع  الكائنات الحية إلى توليد “نمط دفاعي ظاهري” ثم يبرز التأثر بالمرض في وقت لاحق من الحياة.  إن  “فــــئة البنـــــادقة”  تستمد من هذه النظرية البيولوجية  ومن البقايا المعرفية الإجتماعية المرتكزة على “إرث العنف” وهو الذي “يخــنق” جهــود الإصــلاح الحالية (6). وحتى يمكن نزع أسلحة المجتمع بجنوب السودان و “إخضاعه للإدارة المدنية”، وكبح “فئـــة البنــادقة” المســيطرة والمتســلطة، وكل هذا يفترض  وجود الفضاء المدني، والقاعدة الشعبية، و الرغبة في إستعادة سيادة القانون. هذه الوصفات  يجب أن تتجاوز “قطاع الأمن” وتسمو فوقه وتتفوق عليه إذا كانت هناك رغبة صادقة في إقتصــــار “احتكار الوسائل المشروعة للإكراه” على ســلطة الدولة  لا غير.

هناك طرق متعددة لتحويل الدائرة إلى مربع، بالرغم من كل ذلك.  ففي أنغوﻻ وزيمبابوي وناميبيا وموزمبيق، إنســحبت الجيوش الاستعمارية مخزية، واستعيض عنها  بمجموعة متمردة مهيمنة أو بتحالف من مجموعات من المتمردين.  وفي  إثيوبيا  تم حل الجيوش القمعية وأجهزة الأمن، وفي أوغندا، وتشاد، عندما تولي السلطة المتمردين السابقين. أما  في مرحلة “ما بعد الفصل العنصري” في جنوب أفريقيا، تم تشكيل مؤسسات القطاع الأمني الجديد من بين أطراف النزاع. و في الآونة الأخيرة في كل من ليبيريا، وسيراليون، وكوت ديفوار {ساحل العاج}، والصومال، تم “بناء أنظمة أمنية جديدة” وتم بناء القطاع الأمني من الصفر مع دعم خارجي كبير. والســؤال الذي يطرح نفســه: هــل يمكن تطــبيق أي من هذه النماذج  في جنوب السودان؟  أو هل سيكون أي واحدة منها مناسبة للبلاد؟

نزع سلاح المتمردين

إعطاء الحرب فرصة قد تسمح لواحد من جوانب الصراع فرض إرادته على بقية المتمردين.  انتصار “الحركة التحرير الشعبية”  MPLA في أنغوﻻ ضد حــركة “يونيتا” UNITA قد أدى إلى تفكيك هذه الأخيرة مع إدماج بعض مقاتلي “يونيتا” ولكن تحت الشروط التي أملاها الطرف المنتصر. ونتيجة لهذا الإنتصار إنضم المتقاتيلن إلى الجيش ليس فقط المقاتلين من حركة “ليونيتا” ولكن إنضم معهم إلى الجيش أيضاً أعضاء قوات الإحتياط من “الحركة التحرير الشعبية”  MPLA في أنغوﻻ والميليشيات كذلك.  قد شملت الخطوات التالية أيضا عملية ضخمة لنزع السلاح،  والتسريح،  وإعادة الإدماج. تطبيق  هذا السيناريو غير محتمل تماما حدوثه في جنوب السودان نظراً لأن  “جيش التحرير الشعبي السوداني” (SPLA)  ليست لديه القدرة الكافية على شن حرب طويلة ضد التمرد تكون فعالة لهزيمة صفوف طويلة ومتسعة من الفصائل المتمردة.  حتى إذا كان ذلك السيناريو ممكناً، فإن نتيجته ستكون إســتمرار هيمنة “فـــــــــــئة البنــــادقة.

تسريح “جيش التحرير الشعبي السوداني” (SPLA)

إنشاء هيكل أمني جديد لجنوب السودان قد لا يكون ممكناً إلا إذا ما صمتت المدافع أو لو تم  تقليل مستوى العنف بشكل ملحوظ. فعلى سبيل المثال، إصلاح مؤسسات قطاع الأمن في أوغندا في عام 1986، وفي إثيوبيا وإريتريا في عام 1991، وفي رواندا في عام 1994، حدث فقط عقب الإطاحة بالدكتاتورية والتحول الجذري للدولة. وكما ظهر في المثال بالسيناريو السابق، فهناك العديد من المخاطر الملازمة لهذا النهج، الذي يتطلب ترتيبات أمنية مؤقتة لتفادي إمكانية إنزلاق البلاد إلى حالة من الفوضى. وبما أن المتمردين؛ منذ البداية؛ قد أثبتوا عدم قدرتهم على هزيمة “جيش التحرير الشعبي السوداني” (SPLA)، وعدم احتمال موافقة الأطراف على تسريح جيوشها للسماح بتشكيل مؤسسات أمنية جديدة، فهذا السيناريو غير محتمل حدوثه أيضاً. ولكن  إذا، ومن خلال التوصل إلى تسوية سلمية، أختار المتمردين “نزع السلاح طواعية”  أو مقابل مكاسب سياسية معينة، بما في ذلك نبذ العنف من جانب جميع الأطراف، والقبول بالتحول الديمقراطي، وإجراء إصلاحات جذرية في قطاع الأمن – والسماح لقطاع أمني جديد بأن يدب جذوره في أرض الواقع.  ومع ذلك، فإن هذا  السيناريو أيضا من غير المحتمل  حدوثه نظراً لعقلية  “فــــئة البنـــــادقة”  الكامنة داخل المعارضة المسلحة.

إعادة هندسة عــــلاقات قطاع أمن الدولة

الترتيبات الأمنية المذكورة بالتفصيل  ضمن “إتفاقية تســوية الصراع في جمهورية جنوب السودان” (ARCSS) (أركس) تنص على  إنشاء مؤسسات أمنية شاملة وتمثيلية مشتركة أساسا بين الأطراف المتحاربة (أقرب إلى النموذج الذي تم تطبيقه  في جنوب أفريقيا).  فلو كانت هناك قوة إرادة سياسية في عام 2016 عندما إنضم “ريك ماشار” إلى الحكومة في جوبا، لكان بالإمكان أن يتم تنفيذ هذه الترتيبات لأنه كان هناك عدد أقل من الأطراف المنخرطة في الصراع في ذلك الوقت.  بيد أن الميل نحو “المساومة الصفرية”  تسبب في إنهيار جهود وقف إطلاق النار في يوليو {تموز} عام 2016.  وباللمثل، فإن إنشاء “الحكومة الانتقالية للوحدة الوطنية” (TGoNU) ضمن بنــود  “إتفاقية تســوية الصراع في جمهورية جنوب السودان” (ARCSS) (أركس)  قد فتح الباب أمام سيناريوهات جديدة لتحويل قطاع الأمن بإيجاد فرص للتعاون المتبادل بين الأطراف/الأحزاب.  ومع ذلك، فإن إنهيار “إتفاقية أركس” يوقع  البلاد في “فخ إنتقــالي”  بإضفاء الشرعية والــدوام على ما هو مؤقت.

وبناءاً عليه، فإن الترتيب المؤقت  — سواء كان ذلك تشكيل حكومة تكنوقراط، أوحكومة هجين من التكنوقراط والسياسيين المحترمين،  أو  من ائتلاف من بين الخصوم السياسيين استناداً إلى معايير انتقاء صارمة – يجب فصل مهمة إعادة بناء قطــاع الأمن على أن تتولاها  هيئة محايدة لمدة سنتين على الأقل. وهذا يعني فك الارتباط الكامل للقيادة الحالية في الحكومة والمعارضة من السيطرة على قطاع الأمن. ويمكن الوصول إلى هذا التفاهم في مؤتمر “للمائدة المستديرة”  يجميع كافة أصحاب المصلحة و الأطراف المتحاربة. ويجب أن تتخلى الأطراف المتحاربة طوعاً عن هذه الوظيفة  الأساسية وتسليمها إلى هيئة مستقلة تتألف من الخبراء الوطنيين البارزين والممارسين. وتكون الإدارة والرقابة  في يــد “لجنة السلام والأمن” التابعة “للاتحاد الأفريقي” (AU)  في هذه الأثناء، تقوم  كل من “فرقة عمل من الشــرطة الخاصة”، وبعثة الأمم المتحدة في جنوب السودان، وقوة الحماية الإقليمية، تقوم جميعها بتلبية الاحتياجات العاجلة من الأمن العام والحفاظ على القانون والنظام. وبمجــرد الإنتهاء من  إنشاء مؤسسات قطاع الأمن الفاعلة والقابلة للمسآلة والخاضعة للرقابة، يمكن أن تعود هذه المسؤولية إلى دولة جنوب السودان.

هذا الخيار هو السيناريو الوحيد القابل للتطبيق لخلق مؤسسات جديدة لقطاع الأمن  تكون قابلة للرقابة والمسآلة في جنوب السودان.

وإذا ما تركنا الجهات الفاعلة والتي تعاني من إنقسام حاد في جنوب السودان ليتصرفوا على هواهم فسوف يعطونك في النهاية “نظام أمني” موالي لهم ويخدم فقط المصالح السياسية لهؤلاء القادة من تلك الجهات الفاعلة.  وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن التغيير الحقيقي يتطلب إرادة سياسية، وهذا غير متوافر في ظل الظروف الراهنة.  وسوف يتم تنفيذ هذا السيناريو  بإتباع “نماذج لإحياء الدولة وإعادة بنائها في أماكن أخرى في أفريقيا – كما  حدث في ليبيريا، وسيراليون، والصومال، وكوت ديفوار {ساحل العاج}.  وكما حدث في بعض الحالات الأخرى، سيتطلب هذا توفر “الدعم والتعزيز الكامل”  والمساندة  الكبيرة من الأمم المتحدة – لا سيما في مجالات التسريح وإعادة الإدماج، ونزع سلاح المدنيين.  يجب أن يتم التحديد الواضح للضمانات الكافية المتعلقة بالحفاظ على السلامة الإقليمية لجنوب السودان من العدوان الخارجي المحتمل ومن المطامح الإقليمية للدول المجاورة.

الاستنتاج

في جنوب السودان، إتباع منهج الإسعافات الأولية بدلاً من الإصلاح، والإكتفاء بمجرد محاولة “الإدماج” أو “إعادة الإدماج” لمختلف الجماعات المسلحة دون الإعتماد على “خريطة طريق سياسية واضحة للبلاد”، بالإضافة إلى غياب الإرادة السياسية في التغيير، كانت جميعها ضمن أسباب  الوضع الكارثي الذي تواجهه جنوب السودان حالياً.  ولذلك تبرز الحاجة إلى إتباع نهج بديل. فمن أجل استعادة قدرة الدولة على توفير الأمن، وإعادة بناء القطاع الأمني بحيث يصبح مسئولاً أمام حكومة ديمقراطية مدنية، والإزالة التامة والتطهير الشــامل لسرطان العنف، والعنف السياسي الخبيث.  وهذا يتطلب التوسع في السلطات الموكلة إلى “هيئة خاصة من الخبراء” وتفعيلها  — مثل “مجلس الأمن والدفاع الاستراتيجي” وهو المنصوص عليه جزئياً  ضمن “إتفاقية تســوية الصراع في جمهورية جنوب السودان” (ARCSS) (أركس)  — على تصميم وتنفيذ هيكل أمني جديد. وتحقيقا لهذه الغاية، سيتعين  على “مجلس الأمن” التابع للأمم المتحدة   تفويض الاتحاد الأفريقي ومنحه السلطة للاضطلاع بهذه المهمة لعدد محدود من السنوات. وبالإضافة إلى هذا فيجب إستبعاد البلدان التي لديها المصالح الجغرافية السياسية الواضحة في الصراع في جنوب السودان، خشية أن تتناحر فيما بينها نتيجة لتضارب المصالح. فإذا ما تناحرت تلك البلدان فسوف تفشل الجهود

مــاجاك داعغــووت محلل مستقل لمعهد الأفق تغيير “تحليل السياسات الاستراتيجية” CHI-SPA)). أنه عمل سابقا في المخابرات وإدارات الدفاع في حكومات السودان وجنوب السودان، على التوالي.

 

Notes

  1. Jalaba refers to extractive, mercantilism practiced by the Sudanese Arabs.
  2. John O. Udal, The Nile in Darkness: A Flawed Unity, 1863–1899 (Norwich: Michael Russell (Publishing) Ltd, 2005), 208.
  3. Koos Malan, Politocracy: An Assessment of the Coercive Logic of the Territorial State and Ideas around a Response to it, trans. Johan Scott (Pretoria: Pretoria University Law Press, 2012).
  4. Jeremy Astill-Brown, “South Sudan’s Slide into Conflict: Revisiting the Past and Reassessing Partnerships,” Chatham House (December 2014), 9.
  5. Daniel C. Bach, “Inching towards a country without a state: prebendalism, violence and state betrayal in Nigeria,” in Big African States, eds. Christopher Clapham, Jeffrey Herbst, and Greg Mills (Johannesburg: Wits University Press, 2006), 63-96.
  6. Jennifer J. Kish-Gephart and Joanna Tochman Campbell, “You Don’t Forget Your Roots: The Influence of CEO Social Class Background on Strategic Risk Taking,” Academy of Management Journal 58, No. 6 (2015), 1614-1636.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Taming the Dominant Gun Class in South Sudan

A “gun class”—the fusion of security leaders with political power, class, and ethnicity—is at the heart of the predatory governance system that has taken root in South Sudan. Changing this trajectory will require redefining the roles of political and security actors.

South Sudan fighters in Leer - northern South Sudan. Photo: UNMISS

Fighters in Leer, South Sudan. (Photo: UNMISS)

Stunted Political Development

Like many post-independence African countries in the early stages of state formation, South Sudan’s military, the Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA), plays a larger than normal role in the polity. Indeed, even though militaries have tended to recede into the background as democratic evolution gathered pace, there are countries where “military aristocracies” dominate public life. In their prime, these self-styled reformists are always driven by a particular penchant for social change, but there often exists a gulf between their sloganeering and practice.

Unlike previous eras marked by ideological differences, contemporary coup plotters and insurgents in Africa tend to create a close-knit governing elite whose main aim is to share rents and power. However, the type of leadership that emerges from such an agenda shapes the structure of these insurgent movements. This, in turn, influences the trajectory of any subsequent government that emerges.

In South Sudan, the dominance of the SPLA, which won independence at the edge of a sword in 2011, has precluded the building of effective institutions. What caused this dismal failure? The lack of commitment to reforming the military, intelligence, and law enforcement agencies has caused stagnation and quick atrophy at an embryonic phase of state formation. Instead, the SPLA has morphed into a degenerative gun-toting aristocracy that straddles the sociocultural, political, and economic spheres like a colossus.

“The dominance of the SPLA, which won independence at the edge of a sword in 2011, has precluded the building of effective institutions. What caused this dismal failure?”

Historical Evolution of the Gun Class in South Sudan

South Sudan’s proclivity for violence and conflict and its inability to acquire institutional depth is broad and deep. In part, this is attributed to age-old militarization of all facets of life and society stretching back to slavery and colonialism. Self-interested elites have held sway because of the utility of violence. In the past, native servicemen provided military clout to the extractive colonial enterprise and plunder. Afterward, similar arrangements were utilized by the indigenes to purge the homeland from foreign occupation—particularly from Sudanese Jalaba colonialism.1

Egypt under Muhammad Ali Dynasty map . 1805 - 1914

The reach of Muhammad Ali Pasha’s Dynasty, 1805–1914.

The formation of the dominant gun class in South Sudan traces its origin to war and slavery when, in 1821, Mohammad Ali Pasha, the Viceroy of Egypt, conquered Sudan with the chief objective of capturing slaves to provide manpower for the Vice Regal Army.2 Following decades of Anglo-Egyptian rule, Sudan gained independence on January 1, 1956. However, indifference to pleas from inhabitants of Sudan’s southern regions for greater autonomy from northern dominance bred dissent. This culminated in a mutiny of the Sudanese Equatoria Corps of the military in Torit in the months leading up to independence, effectively launching the first civil war. The Anya-Nya Movement and subsequent revolts transformed this externally driven, mercenary-like service into a resistance. In 1972, a semiautonomous administration for southern Sudan was created following the signing of the Addis Ababa Agreement. However, the effendiya (the noble class of mainly ethnocentric political elites), whom the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) later described in its 1983 manifesto as the “bourgeoisified southern elites,” dominated post-1972 politics. Alongside this burgeoning political class, former rebels began to occupy senior positions in government and to control the economic levers of society. They became aware of their shared interests as another tier of privileged social class.

Eventually, the coalition of educated elites and the gun-toting insurgents displaced the traditional chiefdom class that formed part of the previous Anglo-Egyptian colonial administration. Tacit class struggle between the chiefdom class, the effendiya, and former insurgents continued. This explains why the SPLM was initially impervious to demands for legitimate political and administrative structures, and this curtailed the development of institutions outside the military and liberation movement.

John Garang

John Garang.

With the resumption of the civil war in 1983, the nascent civilian and traditional institutions of public administration established in the semiautonomous South disintegrated or were ignored. As the war wore on and areas in the South were liberated, the military would dominate the administration, consequently paving the way for the gun class to flourish and to dominate the post-Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) political order.

Upon his ascension to power, following the death of John Garang in a helicopter crash on July 30, 2005, Salva Kiir abandoned the plan developed by Garang to decouple the SPLA from the SPLM and place the former under civilian control. Kiir’s “Big Tent” policy, by which militias were granted amnesties and integrated into the SPLA, halted these plans and undermined reform efforts. All the while, the narrow ruling clique retained control. As a result, a top-heavy security sector lacking in diversity evolved.

Instrumentalization of Violence

In South Sudan, social mobility depends fundamentally on five key endowments: guns, wealth, religion, education, and tribe, which often exist in a recursive feedback loop. The rise of ethnocentric elites had much to do with the education they had acquired previously. Local prophets with certain messianic claims, such as the 19th-century Nuer prophet Ngundeng Bong, used the power of religion to mobilize. All of these elite groups have used firearms to boost their power. As such, access to firearms and wealth have been critical multipliers for enhancing privileged social status.

Warlords built parallel networks of prebendalism, by which they feel they have the right to access public revenues for their private interest. Public jobs and financial rents were allocated to supporters as a form of patronage. Political power and appropriation of public resources were strictly determined on the basis of patrimonial linkages and some allegiance to the leader. Upward social mobility depended all the while on control of the instruments of coercion. The monopoly of the means of compulsion, consequently, became the single most critical factor in acquiring power and accessing means of consumption.

“The sanctity of the state’s monopoly of the legitimate means of violence became distorted with the emergence of the gun class in all its variants.”

The abundance of conscripts from one’s tribe or clan, as well as a modicum of external support, which was linked to access to guns, gave solid assurances to any particular leader that he would prevail. Ethnicity became a formidable tool for consolidating patrimonial loyalties. Literary advantage and reliance on witchcraft and local deities gave certain warlords an edge. Under these circumstances, a new set of organizational skills, management capacities, value systems, and public ethos emerged. Unsurprisingly, the sanctity of the state’s monopoly of the legitimate means of violence became distorted with the emergence of the gun class in all its variants. While the independence of South Sudan from Sudan has severed traditional forms of foreign hegemony by the Jalaba mercantilist class in the North, the fundamental condition of domination by an ethnically mobilized military class still exists.

Even if the state remains a trophy for contestations, the artificiality of the South Sudanese state is manifest, as its judicial, legislative, and administrative capacities have been hollowed out. Space for independent voices such as civil society has shrunk considerably and a combination of corruption, violence, and ethnic mobilization have placed the country on a staircase to the abyss. In the vacuum created—but also as a deliberate effort of warlords to shore up sectarian strength—community vigilantes have emerged to achieve a kind of collective security for designated segments of the population.3 Furthermore, the lucrative war economy of South Sudan has encouraged new rebels and cartel networks to contest an extractive domain in the marketplace.

The lack of political will to reform the security sector and eliminate the wicked problem of the dominance of the gun class remains the main stumbling block to the state-building process in South Sudan. To date, “to think of various security institutions [in South Sudan] as subordinate appendages to the state is fundamentally to misunderstand South Sudan and South Sudanese society.”4 South Sudan is an atypical case of a military taking hostage of a country. Furthermore, it is inching toward a country without a state.5 Therefore, mounting security sector reform initiatives in the face of a seemingly entrenched gun class that dabbles in politics organized around ethnicity is a daunting task akin to hunting a python in the mud.

Possible Exit Scenarios

New organizational norms and doctrines are generated when there is political will. Repeated social adversity early in life can program a defensive phenotype in organisms which accentuates vulnerability to disease later in life. The gun class draws from these biological and cognitive residues of a violent legacy that now asphyxiates reforms.6 To demilitarize South Sudanese society and curb the reigning gun class, therefore, presupposes the existence of a civil space, popular rule, and restoration of the rule of law. These prescriptions must transcend the security sector if the monopoly of legitimate means of coercion is to meaningfully revert to the state.

There are multiple ways of squaring the circle, however. In Angola, Zimbabwe, Namibia, and Mozambique, colonial armies disengaged ignominiously and were replaced by a dominant insurgent group or a coalition of insurgents. In Ethiopia, Uganda, and Chad, oppressive militaries and security apparatuses were disbanded when former rebels took power. In post-Apartheid South Africa, new security sector institutions were reconstituted from among protagonists. More recently in Liberia, Sierra Leone, Côte d’Ivoire, and Somalia, new security sectors have been built from scratch with significant external support. The question remains whether any of these models can be relevant to South Sudan.

Disarming the Rebels

Giving war a chance may allow one side in the conflict to impose its will. The victory of the MPLA in Angola against UNITA led to the disbanding of the latter with a few fighters being integrated on the victor’s terms. This final outcome brought into the military not only UNITA ex-combatants but also MPLA reservists and militias. It also involved a massive disarmament, demobilization, and reintegration (DDR) process. This scenario is quite unlikely in South Sudan considering the SPLA’s inadequate capacity to wage a long and effective counterinsurgency to defeat an expanding array of rebel factions. Even if possible, it would still perpetuate gun class dominance.

Disbanding the SPLA

A new security architecture for South Sudan may only be possible if guns either fall silent or violence is reduced significantly. For example, overhauling security sector institutions in Uganda in 1986, Ethiopia and Eritrea in 1991, and Rwanda in 1994, followed the overthrow of dictatorships and the radical transformation of the state. Like in the preceding scenario, there are inherent risks with this approach, which would require interim security arrangements in order to avert the possibility of the country sliding into anarchy. Since South Sudanese rebels have not demonstrated the capacity to defeat the SPLA, and the likelihood of the parties agreeing to the disbandment of their armies to allow for the formation of new security institutions is remote, this scenario is unlikely. If, through a peace settlement, the rebels opt to voluntarily disarm or disband in exchange for certain political gains—including renunciation of violence by all parties, a democratic transition, and radical reforms in the security sector—a new security sector design may take root. However, this is also unlikely given the inherent gun class mentality within the armed opposition.

Reengineering the State-Security Sector Relationship

The security arrangements detailed in the Agreement on the Resolution of Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (ARCSS) speak to the creation of inclusive and representative security institutions shared mainly among the warring parties (akin to the South African model). If there had been stronger political will in 2016 when Riek Machar rejoined the government in Juba, these arrangements may have worked because there were fewer parties to the conflict at that time. However, the slant toward zero-sum bargaining caused the collapse of the ceasefire in July 2016. Likewise, the creation of the Transitional Government of National Unity (TGoNU) under the ARCSS unlocked new scenarios for security sector transformation by creating opportunities for interparty cooperation. However, the collapse of ARCSS puts the country in a transition trap by legitimizing the permanency of the temporary.

“The collapse of ARCSS puts the country in a transition trap by legitimizing the permanency of the temporary.”

Thus, an interim arrangement—be it a government of technocrats, a hybrid government of technocrats and respected politicians, or a coalition of political adversaries based on a stringent selection criteria—must detach the function of rebuilding the security sector to a neutral body for a period of at least 2 years. This implies complete disengagement of the current leadership in the government and opposition from control over the security sector. This understanding can be reached in a roundtable conference of all the stakeholders in which the warring parties relinquish this core function voluntarily to an independent body comprising distinguished national experts and practitioners and under the governance and oversight of the Commission for Peace and Security of the African Union (AU). In the interim, a special police task force, the United Nations Mission in South Sudan, and the Regional Protection Force can cater to urgent public security needs and maintenance of law and order. Once the institutions of a functioning and accountable security sector are established, this responsibility can revert to the South Sudanese state.

This option is the only viable scenario for creating new, accountable security sector institutions in South Sudan. Left to their own devices, leading actors in deeply divided South Sudan will fashion a loyal security sector that serves the political interests of these leaders. Moreover, genuine change requires political will, which is in even shorter supply under the current circumstances. This scenario would follow models of state revival and rebuilding elsewhere in Africa—such as in Liberia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, and Côte d’Ivoire. As in other cases, this option would have to be buttressed by significant United Nations backstopping and involvement—especially in the areas of DDR and civilian disarmament. Adequate guarantees pertaining to safeguarding the territorial integrity of South Sudan from possible external aggression and territorial ambitions of the neighbors must also be clearly spelled out.

Conclusion

In South Sudan, Band-Aid approaches such as integration and reintegration of various armed groups without a clear political roadmap for the country and in the absence of political will have turned out to be catastrophic. A clean break is therefore needed. In order to restore the state’s capacity to provide security, reconstructing the security sector so that it is accountable to a civilian democratic government and totally purged of the metastasizing cancer of political violence is necessary. This will require the expansion of the mandate and operationalization of a special body of experts—such as a Strategic Defence and Security Board partially provided for in the ARCSS—to design and implement a new security architecture. To this end, the AU will have to be empowered by the United Nations Security Council to undertake this function for a limited number of years. However, countries that have clear and expressed geopolitical interests in South Sudan’s conflict will have to be excluded from this endeavor lest their rivalries and clash of interests scuttle it.

Majak D’Agoôt is an independent analyst for the Changing Horizon Institute for Strategic Policy Analysis (CHI-SPA). He previously served in the Intelligence and Defence Departments of the governments of Sudan and of South Sudan, respectively.

Notes

  1. Jalaba refers to extractive, mercantilism practiced by the Sudanese Arabs.
  2. John O. Udal, The Nile in Darkness: A Flawed Unity, 1863–1899 (Norwich: Michael Russell (Publishing) Ltd, 2005), 208.
  3. Koos Malan, Politocracy: An Assessment of the Coercive Logic of the Territorial State and Ideas around a Response to it, trans. Johan Scott (Pretoria: Pretoria University Law Press, 2012).
  4. Jeremy Astill-Brown, “South Sudan’s Slide into Conflict: Revisiting the Past and Reassessing Partnerships,” Chatham House (December 2014), 9.
  5. Daniel C. Bach, “Inching towards a country without a state: prebendalism, violence and state betrayal in Nigeria,” in Big African States, eds. Christopher Clapham, Jeffrey Herbst, and Greg Mills (Johannesburg: Wits University Press, 2006), 63-96.
  6. Jennifer J. Kish-Gephart and Joanna Tochman Campbell, “You Don’t Forget Your Roots: The Influence of CEO Social Class Background on Strategic Risk Taking,” Academy of Management Journal 58, No. 6 (2015), 1614-1636.