

Constitutional Term Limits for African Leaders

N-	Countries with Two-Term Limit in Constitution			
No Constitutional	T ::4 N-4 V-4 M-4 1	Two-Term Limit Reached		
Two-Term	Limit Not Yet Met by Any President (Year Limit to Be Reached)	Attempted Modification or		Left Office
Limit		Elimination of Limit		(First Leader to
Lillit		Limit Modified or Eliminated	Limit Retained	Adhere to Limit)
Eritrea	Sudan (2022) ⁴	Guinea (Conté, 2001)(Condé, 2020) ⁶	Zambia (Chiluba, 2001)	Tanzania (Mwinyi, 1995)
Ethiopia ¹	Mali (2024)	Togo (Eyadéma, 2002, 2019) ⁷	Malawi (Muluzi, 2003)	Ghana (Rawlings, 2001)
The Gambia	Burkina Faso (2024)	Gabon (Bongo, 2003)	Nigeria (Obasanjo, 2006)	São Tomé and Príncipe ¹⁹ (Trovoada, 2001)
Lesotho ¹	Central African Republic (2025)	Uganda (Museveni, 2005, 2017) ⁸	Senegal (Wade, 2012)	Cabo Verde ¹⁹ (Monteiro, 2001)
Libya ²	Angola (2027)	Chad (Deby, 2005, 2018) ⁹	Benin (Talon, 2017)	Mauritius ¹⁹ (Uteem, 2002)
Morocco ³	Madagascar (2028)	Cameroon (Biya, 2008)		Kenya (Moi, 2002)
Somalia	Zimbabwe (2028) ⁵	Algeria (Bouteflika, 2008, 2016) ¹⁰		Mozambique (Chissano, 2005)
Eswatini ³	Guinea-Bissau (2029)	Djibouti (Guelleh, 2010)		Sierra Leone (Kabbah, 2007)
	Tunisia (2029)	Burundi (Nkurunziza, 2015, 2018) ¹¹		Botswana (Mogae, 2008)
	Equatorial Guinea (2030)	Rwanda (Kagame, 2015) ¹²		South Africa (Mbeki, 2008)
	Seychelles (2030)	Republic of the Congo (Nguesso, 2015) ¹³		Namibia (Pohamba, 2015)
		South Sudan (Kiir, 2015, 2018) ¹⁴		Liberia (Sirleaf, 2018)
		DRC (Kabila, 2016) ¹⁵		Mauritania (Abdel Aziz, 2019)
		Comoros (Azali, 2018) ¹⁶		Niger (Issoufou, 2021)
		Egypt (Sisi, 2019) ¹⁷		
		Côte d'Ivoire (Ouattara, 2020) ¹⁸		

Updated January 2023

Notes

- 1. Ethiopia and Lesotho: Executive authority largely rests with the office of the prime minister, which does not face restrictions on tenure.
- 2. Libya: A two-term limit has been included in the draft constitution.
- 3. Morocco and Eswatini: Executive authority rests with a monarch.
- 4. Sudan: The civilian-military transitional government's mandate expires in January 2024. Civilian leadership of the Sovereign Council is set to begin in February 2022.
- 5. Zimbabwe: The military ouster of Robert Mugabe in 2017 has allowed for the continuation of nearly four decades of ZANU-PF-led government.
- 6. Guinea: A new constitution passed in a controversial 2020 referendum allowed Condé to run for a third term in 2020 and theoretically a fourth term in 2026.
- 7. Togo: A two-term limit was reinstated in 2019, allowing Faure Gnassingbé to run for a fourth term in 2020 and theoretically a fifth term in 2025.
- 8. Uganda: Presidential term limits were lifted in 2005, and the age limit was removed in 2017.
- 9. Chad: A new constitution reinstated a two-term limit and changed terms from 5 to 6 years in 2018, theoretically allowing Idriss Déby to run for a sixth term in 2021 and a seventh term in 2027.
- 10. Algeria: A limit of two 5-year terms was reinstated in 2016, theoretically allowing Abdelaziz Bouteflika to run for a fifth term in 2019 (though he was subsequently forced to resign).
- 11. Burundi: Following a controversial third term ruling in 2015, a new constitution extended presidential terms from 5 to 7 years in 2018.
- 12. Rwanda: A controversial 2015 referendum allowed Paul Kagame a third 7-year term after which he may run for two 5-year terms, potentially remaining in power to 2034.
- 13. Republic of the Congo: A new constitution in 2015 removed the age limit, reduced term length from 7 years to 5, and extended term limit to three terms.
- 14. South Sudan: Salva Kiir's term as elected president ended in 2015, but constitutional amendments in 2018 and a new unity government formed in 2020 extends his mandate until 2023.
- 15. DRC: Joseph Kabila's term as elected president ended in 2016, though he remained in office until the disputed elections in 2018, by which he retains considerable power.
- 16. Comoros: A new constitution, approved in a controversial 2018 referendum allows the president to run for two consecutive 5-year terms, abolishing the one-term rotational system of power sharing among the islands.
- 17. Egypt: A controversial constitutional amendment in 2019 extended Sisi's second 4-year term by 2 years, and allows him to run for an additional 6-year (third) term that would end in 2030.
- 18. Côte d'Ivoire: The adoption of a new constitution in 2016 enabled Alassane Ouattara to run for a third term in 2020 and theoretically a fourth term in 2025.
- 19. São Tomé and Príncipe, Cabo Verde, and Mauritius: The elected president is term limited, though power is shared with a prime minister, who is not.