

Constitutional Term Limits for African Leaders

	Countries with Two-Term Limit in Constitution				
No Constitutional Two-Term Limit		Limit Not Retroactively Applied to Current Executive	Two-Term Limit Reached		
	Limit Not Yet Met by Any President (Year Limit to Be Reached)		Attempted Modification or Elimination of Limit		Left Office (First Leader to
			Successful	Unsuccessful	Adhere to Limit)
Cape Verde ¹	Liberia (2017)	Algeria ⁴	Togo	Zambia	Tanzania
(three-term limit)			(Eyadéma, 2002)	(Chiluba, 2001)	(Mwinyi, 1995)
Equatorial Guinea	Côte d'Ivoire (2018)	Zimbabwe ⁵	Gabon	Malawi	Ghana
			(Bongo, 2003)	(Muluzi, 2003)	(Rawlings, 2001)
Eritrea	Mauritania (2019)		Uganda	Nigeria	São Tomé and Príncipe
			(Museveni, 2005)	(Obasanjo, 2006)	(Trovoada, 2001)
Ethiopia ¹	Guinea (2020)		Chad	Niger	Kenya
			(Deby, 2005)	(Tandja, 2009)	(Moi, 2002)
Gambia	Egypt (2022)		Cameroon	Senegal	Mozambique
			(Biya, 2008)	(Wade, 2012)	(Chissano, 2005)
Guinea-Bissau	Madagascar (2024)		Djibouti	Burkina Faso	Benin
			(Guellah, 2010)	(Compaoré, 2014)	(Kérékou, 2006)
Lesotho ¹	Tunisia (2024)		Rwanda		Comoros
			(Kagame, 2015)		(Assoumani, 2006)
Mauritius ¹	Central African		Burundi		Sierra Leone
	Republic (2026)		(Nkurunziza, 2015) ⁶		(Kabbah, 2007)
Morocco ²	Angola (2027)		Republic of Congo		Botswana
			(Nguesso, 2015)		(Mogae, 2008)
Seychelles	Libya ³		DRC		Mali
(three-term limit)			(Kabila, 2016) ⁷		(Konaré, 2008)
Somalia					South Africa
					(Mbeki, 2008)
South Sudan					Namibia
					(Pohamba, 2015)
Sudan					
Swaziland ²					

¹ Executive authority largely rests with the office of the prime minister, which does not face any restrictions on tenure.

² Executive authority rests with a monarch.

³ Libya: The draft 2016 Constitution imposes two-term limits.

⁴ Algeria: The term-limit clause was removed in 2008 for Abdelaziz Bouteflika to run again and reinstated in 2016 as he serves out his last term.

⁵ Zimbabwe: The Constitution adopted in 2013 introduced a two-term limit. Robert Mugabe is due to run for his second term in 2018.

⁶ Burundi: While legitimacy remains contested, Pierre Nkurunziza has held onto power past term limit expiration in 2015.

⁷ DRC: Joseph Kabila served out his second term in 2016 but negotiated to stay on until December 2017.