International Alumni Chapter Hosts North/South Sudan Discussion

By Africa Center for Strategic Studies
Updated: 11/05/2010

sudan-mapThe International Alumni Chapter in Ethiopia, which is affiliated with the Africa Center for Strategic Studies, will host a discussion Nov. 8 about the remaining obstacles to the Sudanese referendum scheduled for Jan. 9, 2011. The Sudanese vote is widely expected to result in splitting the country into two separate political entities.

The discussion will be held at the Sheraton Hotel in Addis Ababa.

Invited guest speakers include Principle Arop Deng Koul, Head of Mission, Government of Southern Sudan Liaison Office, as well as Mr. Hsuni Mustafa, 2nd Secretary, Embassy of the Republic of Sudan (representing the north).  In addition, the former-Foreign Minister of the Republic of Somaliland, Abdillahi Mohamed Duale is expected to appear.

The invited guests include representatives of the African Union, European Union Bilateral Delegation, European Union/African Union Delegation, the Arab League, Combined Joint Task Force Horn of Africa (CJTF-HOA), U.S. Africa Command, Addis Ababa Military Attaché Association, U.S. AU Embassy in Addis Ababa, U.S. Embassy in Addis Ababa, Community Chapter in Djibouti, Community Chapter in Kenya, and Tunisian Embassy in Addis Ababa.

The discussion of Sudan is part of the Africa Center’s efforts to support United States foreign and security policies by strengthening the strategic capacity of African states to identify and resolve security challenges in ways that promote civil-military cooperation, respect democratic values, and safeguard human rights. The fora also increase awareness of U.S. security policies within Africa and provide African insights to U.S. policymakers.

The Africa Center’s East Africa Regional Office in Addis Ababa is providing administrative support to the Forum. The Regional Office is also working with other local Community Chapters and CJTF HOA on similar events to be held in the near future. The East Africa network includes members from Kenya, Sudan, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Tanzania, EASBRIG, African Standby Force, ISS, IGAD, the African Union, and other nations and organizations.